Department of Surgery

Department of surgery became fully functional in the year 1941 as part of S.N. Medical College (which initially was Medical School). This first Head of the Department was Dr. S.C. Mishra. It continued to grow in stature and work as a treatment centre for carcinoma of neck and jaw and became in the Country where hemimandibulectomy was started by Dr. S P Srivastava. This was then being done in a vary primitive stage of anaesthesia in which sodium pentothal drip was used as an anaesthetic agent.
Specialized Urosurgery was started by Dr. B.D. Sharma in the early 80's and Transurethral Resection of Prostate was done for BPH for the first time in UP in this department. Continuous growth since then has today brought us to a level where almost all sort of Urosurgery is being performed here. The department is doing advanced urology which includes PCNL, TURP Uretheroplasty, Ureteroscopy, Laparoscopic Nephrectomy and Advanced Laparoscopic Surgeries.
This department also became a specialised centre for the treatment of Head and Neck Carcinoma under the guidance of Dr.B.D. Sharma, Dr. V. K. Mittal and Dr. I.P. Elhence. Specialised plastic surgery is also being done which makes this department a centre for plastic and reconstructive surgery and for the management of burn injuries.
This department a also has benefit of neurosurgery unit and almost all Neurosurgical procedure are being carried out with good results.
Today we are performing almost all types of with humane touch taking due care of patients.

Faculty Name

S.No. Faculty Name Designation Qualification
01 Dr. Prashant Lavaniya Professor M.B.B.S., M.S.(Surgery), M.Ch.(Urology)
02 Dr. Juhi Singhal Assoc. Professor M.B.B.S., M.S.
03 Dr. Richa Jaiman Professor & Head MS.(surgery) FIAGES.
04 Dr. Puneet Kumar Srivastava Assistant Professor MS, MCh(Ped. surgery) FIAGES, FMAS
05 Dr. Ankush Gupta Associate Professor M.B.B.S., M.S., MCH.(Urology)
06 Dr. Surendra Pathak Associate Professor MBBS, MS, FMS, FAIS, FIAGES
07 Dr. Arun Kumar Assistant Professor 
08 Dr. Aradhna Singh Assistant Professor 
09 Dr. Prashant Gupta Professor (Contract) M.S.(Gen. Surgery)
10 Dr. Alok Kumar Gupta Associate Professor (Contract) ----
11 Dr. Atul Kumar Gupta Lecturer (Contract) ----
12 Dr. Rajesh Gupta Professor (Contract) ----
13 Dr. Pranay Singh Chakotiya Lecturer (Contract) ----
14 Dr. Anubhav Goyal Assistant Professor 
15 Dr. J.P. Shakya Associate Professor M.S.

Major Research Area

Clinical Investigation & Facilities

Training Program

Training of postgraduate in General Surgery and below mentioned specialized surgeries

Special Units

Achievements Regarding Department